Recovering from a headache, and from myself

This week was surely marked by the never ending migraine. Starting Thursday night, the stress of school deadlines, work normalcies, and sitting at a computer for 16 hours a day finally caught up to me. In protest, my eyes just gave up. They didn’t want me looking at any computer object- not my kindle, not my ipad, imac, or macbook- nothing. My ensuing deadlines didn’t agree, so i tried to take as much advil as I could, and work on my homework in 2 hour chunks. I did the best I could.

Luckily, some good came out of it. Remember that breathing room I was talking about in my last post ? Well, I got it. I had no choice but to breathe after I worked on something for two hours, and it actually did me a world of good. I stepped back, looked at my composition, my colors, and my text placement, and was able to complete the bulk of a book cover assignment. I sent it out on the listerv and got positive feedback.

I was incredibly relieved. I think that my “come to Jesus” with my teacher really helped me see what some problems are in my approach to school. This course of study is so time consuming. It requires a lot of money, a lot of time, more research than people think, and if you aren’t some naturally talented artist blessed with technical capabilities, it requires a lot of patience.

I get the impression that people think graphic design means taking the doodles in the side of your notebook, and making something out of it. Sometimes it can! But what I am still learning is that this field is just like any other, creative or not, in that you have people to please. How likely is it that I will become some graphic design extroidanarre, choosing assignments at my own fancy, never to receive a piece of negative feed back needed for revision? Not likely.

On that note, I’m still figuring out what I can do to make school assignments easier to work on (not easier, just easier to focus on). Everything is a work in prorgess, and when I feel stressed, or pushed to my max, I will click my heels and think of the amazing things that are coming up for me.

Pics to come of my recent school work!

xxxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

