My island in the sun: Key West

I have fallen in love. Might I never recommend going to Florida when the weather in your hometown is in a shitty state of transition after a hurricane. Key West enticed me, called to me, beckoned me to bathe in the sun on its shores, and so I did. I left for 4 days, with my beau, and **almost** didn’t come back.

There was something incredibly amazing about the keys. It seems so far away from the rest of the mainland. I get this similar feeling when I visit Puerto Rico. As my best friend, Juli, put it, it is amazing that you can take a plane ride just a few hours away and feel SO completely different. It was honestly just what we needed.

I have never been to the Keys before, but just the drive alone induced the “runaway” feeling. I wanted to pack my shit up and leave for the keys ASAP! Someone lied to me and told me it was 2 hours, but really it was a three hour drive. We were exhausted when we arrived late that night, so we did nothing but grab some beer and water, then hit the sack at our hotel, the Coconut Mallory. The room we had was nice, and the resort was decent, but really just because it was our first time.  We were closer to the Marina, and I’d like to be closer to Duvall Street next time (not ON it, just closer). Also, the hotel didn’t offer much in the way of amenities. Our towels never got restocked (we had to ask several times and finally just found the towel room ourselves), and despite hanging the tag on the door, we never had our room cleaned.  Also, a cardinal sin was committed- a pool that was non clean. Not a bad place, just not the greatest.

Either way, we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room. The town is so gorgeous, that why would we want to? We immediately went to Ft. Zachary Taylor Beach, and enjoyed a few hours in some CLEAR sparkling water. The bottom is quite rocky, but it wasn’t unbearable in some spots. You just had to swim past the rocky bar. William isn’t even that much of a beach person, but he loved this beach. For a few bucks we rented the chairs and an umbrella and he kicked back for a few. It was the best. The following day it rained so badly in key west that people were literally swimming down Duvall. The water was up to four feet in some spots! We were really glad we rented a GMC Acadia and not the stupid Challenger that William’s inner rock star wanted. The best part was that we weren’t sad it was raining. We went shopping 🙂 AND because I have the best friend a girl could ever want, I was pleasantly surprised by a facial that morning at a beautiful spa on the water. It was a thank you from Juli for all of the wedding stuff. I was totally taken back and it made me feel really special. I love her and William for conspiring such a great morning! I had a hang over, too, so I needed it. lol.

I spent a lot of time at the bar- obviously. I loved the Rum Bar at the Speakeasy Inn, Rick’s, Sloppy Joes, and Bagatelle. Alonzo’s has a squishy place in my heart, however. It was there that I surprised one of my best friends from childhood, who is now a full time resident of the Conch Republic. Jessi is a bartender extraordinaire, and she really made THE BEST mojitos. Alonzo’s also has some delicious baked Oysters, cause I don’t do that raw shit. I had a great time hanging out with Jessi and her husband, Joe, and I’ll name drop the hell out of Alonzo’s for those headed to Key West. 🙂

Overall I had so many great moments there. Time alone with William, alone with myself and my thoughts, with good friends, and of course lots of drinks and good food!

There are more pics to come, but here is a sampling:

The beach, and William eating a cow’s worth of ribs at Margaritaville. We thought Margaritaville was going to be horrible, but we actually got the best service and some of the best food there- the fish tacos were great, and Fats McGee over here at ALL those ribs.

One Comment to “My island in the sun: Key West”

  1. Aww! This was such a great post. I am really happy for you and William– you guys are so much fun. Wish I could’ve had some margaritas with you… Missing you and your crazy self.

Leave a Reply

