Doubt

Last week I felt a flood of emotions about my future. I am constantly berating myself for not being where I want to be in terms of design capabilities, and I always wonder if I will get there or not. I know that people switch careers and succeed all the time, but I feel sometimes that I am lacking that “something” that makes people designers. Every day is different in terms of how I am feeling and what I want to accomplish, and I am aware that I need to work hard.  I feel like I could be working a lot harder. I am not ready to just chalk it up to inexperience and accept my skill level. If I want it, I need to work harder. I know that I want it because when I see design that I love, I get so excited. I have this desire to improve upon things, create things of my own, and make things beautiful. I set out to change things, and that is exactly what I intend to do.

4 Comments to “Doubt”

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean. I’ve been struggling with the same feelings lately too, although I think I’ve figured out what I’m lacking that makes me less of a designer: passion. I don’t eat, sleep, and breathe design like a lot of great designers do. But that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy it and make a good living at it. Eventually. I hope.

    • I think I am having the same issue. I love design. I LOVE IT, but I guess I am not passionate to the point where I am willing to run myself into the ground to master it. I feel like at the end of the day, design isn’t paying my bills yet, and I still have to put my time into my current job and its really difficult to balance both….

Leave a Reply

