This was probably the most difficult assignment yet. As a apart of our final project, we had to

This was probably the most difficult assignment yet. As a apart of our final project, we had to create a logo, stationery, envelope, business card, and soon a poster for either a fictitious transportation museum or “narnia” zoo. Naturally, I chose the zoo.

I found this to be quite challenging because of the limited color choices. I could only use 2 colors- black counts as a color, although white does not, and the 2nd color should be fitting to the logo. I kept thinking of the Smithsonian while I worked on this project, but I’m falling short in some areas. Aside from that, my lack of technical knowledge has me very frustrated when trying to resolve certain design issues in my project. For example, on screen, the Logo looks just the way I want it, but in print, a mysterious line keeps popping up around it, as if I didn’t select the no stroke option around the object box. I thought perhaps I had over-set the image, or maybe it was a color conversion problem, but  after checking both of these, I was WRONG. Where the hell is this line coming from ? Ugh….

I can’t say that I am super confident in this project. Unfortunately, an academic personality trait of mine is that when I am not connected to the subject on a personal level, I have a hard time relating to it enough to make something of it. This is the case here. There is no Narnia Zoo, I know this, and so I keep building a wall around my own imagination. By the time I take that wall down, brick by brick, the deadline has come and I have to turn in what I’ve got. I never feel like I have enough time.

Waah, Whaa. This is the nature of the design field, so I better get over myself.

