Good Bye Summer!

What an amazing summer! I don’t think I have ever had more happen in to me in such a short amount of time.

I quit my job. I went to Costa Rica. Left early. Got engaged (squeeeee!). I fell in love with design again. It has been a long time coming, but I am finally the person I am used to being- joyous, creative, motivated, happy.  It feels really good to be back.

This time last year, I was getting ready to start another semester of graduate school, and I couldn’t have been further away from myself. I was so exhausted that I couldn’t get excited about anything. Whereas I loved design and everything going on at school before, it was the last thing I wanted to do. I didn’t have the foresight to plan ahead for projects or put my ideas into action- my head was incredibly crowded!

Taking the summer to step back and look at the most important things in life was the best thing I could have done. Not working full time is hard, but having regrets are surely harder. I certainly do not regret my summer experience- it has brought me so many new things!

This semester I will be taking three classes. If I am not working full time, then there is no reason for me not to be taking a full load. Three classes this semester, plus my portfolio and seminar classes in the spring, will hopefully allow me to graduate in May. Life will be busy, but I can’t wait to take it all on! Thank God for this summer and the new perspective I’ve gained.

After all this time, here goes nothing. I’m ready to rock the shit out of this upcoming school year, and keep my head on straight. Good luck to my fellow design school homies!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments to “Good Bye Summer!”

  1. Crystal! Hey it’s Brandi Preston from the design pub program. I just stumbled upon your post and I love it! I spent last summer “funemployed” and I had sooooo much fun. (yoga, pool, travel, design) It was so refreshing. Congrats on the engagement and good luck with your classes this fall. I’m taking the fall off since I’ve met all the requirements. I hope you had a blast in Costa Rica and it’s good to hear you’re back to your normal self. This post was so inspiring. I think it’s time for me to simplify a few things as well :-)

    • Brandi ! Its so good to hear from you! I am happy for you taking the semester off. I know its a great way to recharge the batteries, but we will miss you in class. I’m glad I’m not the only one who enjoyed the funemployment! I hope we run into each other soon. And thanks for the kind words- they mean alot :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

